Back to Top

Civitas Awards

Europe's highest award for clean urban transport - 2016 Edition

The CIVITAS Awards are an opportunity to highlight the most ambitious, innovative and successful efforts in the field of sustainable urban mobility. Winners are showcased as examples of excellence before the press with the hope that they can guide and stimulate cities throughout Europe in the pursuit of sustainable mobility.

Every year, applications of the CIVITAS Forum member cities are being invited in the following four categories:

  • Technical Innovation;
  • Public Participation; 
  • The CIVITAS City of the Year;
  • The CIVITAS Transformations - new category of the 2016 edition!


Award-winning activities are showcased as examples of excellence and promoted to the press, inspiring other cities for the further development of sustainable mobility initiatives in Europe.

In addition, the winning cities of each category benefit from the following:

  • Formal acknowledgement letter signed by the European Commission, recognising the city’s commitment to the objective of a cleaner and more sustainable public transport in Europe;
  • Visibility on the CIVITAS website and promotional material;
  • Pan-European media coverage;
  • Invitation to conferences and workshops organised by DG MOVE on sustainable mobility


Rules and procedures

  • The CIVITAS Award is open to all cities that have signed the CIVITAS declaration and are a member of the CIVITAS Forum Network. If your city is not a Forum member yet, please complete and sign the CIVITAS Forum Declaration
  • Winners from CIVITAS Awards 2015 are not eligible in the 2016 contest (exept for the CIVITAS Transformations category)
  • Each city can submit maximum one application per category.  Applications are available in the download area in this page (right side). 
  • Applications are collected and forwarded to the CIVITAS Award Jury for evaluation and voting. The CIVITAS Secretariat supports the Jury by abstracting applications. Jury Member will also provide an adequate justification of their decision.
  • Decisions are reached around 6-7 weeks prior to the Awards ceremony (around end July 2016). Winners are informed with enough lead time to allow them to prepare a short acceptance speech (and a film or a presentation) for the Awards ceremony. 
  • The CIVITAS Awards ceremony 2016 will be hold during the CIVITAS FORUM  2016 in Gdynia, Poland, on the 29th September.  Winners (and jury members when available) may be requested for interviews after the ceremony.
  • Please send your application form via e-mail at the following address, with “CIVITAS Award Category ” placed within the subject of your message:

  • The deadline for submitting application(s) is extended until the 15.07.2016!


More Information

Read more about the AWARDS 2016

Read more about the AWARDS 2015

Read more about the AWARDS 2014

Read more about the AWARDS 2013



For inquiries please contact CIVITAS Secretariat at